Skip to main content

Media Advisory

Montgomery County Honors Dr. Martin Luther King Jr.

For Immediate Release: Friday, January 12, 2018

 Monday, January 15; 3:30 p.m.

The Music Center at Strathmore, 5301 Tuckerman La.,

North Bethesda


Montgomery County Executive Ike Leggett and the Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Commemorative Committee will honor the work of Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. in a special ceremony. Joining Leggett will be U.S. Senator Chris Van Hollen; U.S. Congressman Jamie Raskin; County Council President Hans Riemer; County Council Vice President Nancy Navarro; Councilmembers Roger Berliner, Marc Elrich, Nancy Floreen, Tom Hucker, Sidney Katz, George Leventhal, Craig Rice; and Board of Education President Michael Durso.


Fulfilling the Dream: A Celebration of Yesterday, Today, and Tomorrow”is the theme for this year’s celebration. This special presentation will celebrate Dr. Martin Luther King Jr.’s life through dramatic readings, music, dance performances and a special choral performance by the iconic Carlton Reese Memorial Unity Choir from Birmingham, Alabama.  


NOTE TO MEDIA: Upon arrival go to the VIP check-in to pick up tickets and media passes. 

Release ID: 18-140
Media Contact: James Stowe  240-888-5502