Skip to main content

Media Advisory

Media Advisory: Montgomery County Executive Elrich, Sen. Van Hollen, Congressman Raskin, Corporate Partners Will Launch Nation's Largest Integrated Microgrid Powered Bus Depot on Monday, Oct. 31, in Silver Spring

For Immediate Release: Thursday, October 27, 2022

Montgomery County Executive Marc Elrich will be joined by U.S. Sen. Chris Van Hollen, Congressman Jamie Raskin, County Council President Gabe Albornoz, Council Vice President Evan Glass, Federal, State and local officials and corporate partners including AlphaStruxure at 11 a.m. on Monday, Oct. 31, to launch the nation’s largest—and the Washington Region’s first—integrated electric bus charging depot. The depot is located at the Brookville Smart Energy Bus Depot in Silver Spring.

The Brookville Bus Depot is located at 8710 Brookville Rd. in Silver Spring.

The first of its kind project will help move Montgomery County closer to meeting its goal of reducing GHG emissions to zero by 2035.

The 6.5 MW microgrid includes distributed solar energy generation, renewable natural gas ready on-site generation, battery energy storage and more than 4.14 MW of charging capacity. It will ensure stable power supply in the event of extreme weather events or the main grid’s power outage.

The facility has the capacity to charge 70 electric buses at once with solar power, providing reliable and sustainable public transportation.

The project is being delivered at no upfront cost to the County through a long-term public-private partnership agreement with Alphastruxure. The agreement ensures predictable operating expenses and guaranteed performance.

ASSIGNMENT EDITORS NOTE: Media members are invited to tour the facility for an in-depth look at the microgrid and charging infrastructure.

WHAT: Brookville bus depot ribbon-cutting for the region’s first microgrid integrated powered bus depot and “first plug-in” of a Ride On County e-bus

WHEN: Monday, Oct. 31. 11 a.m.

WHERE: 8710 Brookville Rd, Silver Spring


  • Marc Elrich, Montgomery County Executive
  • Chris Van Hollen, U.S. Senator
  • Jamie Raskin, U.S. Congressman
  • Gabe Albornoz, Montgomery County Council President
  • Evan Glass, Montgomery County Council Vice President
  • Polly Trottenberg, Deputy Secretary, U.S. Department of Transportation
  • Michael Berube, Deputy Assistant Secretary, Office of Energy Efficiency and Renewable Energy
  • David Dise, Director, Montgomery County Department of General Services
  • Chris Conklin, Director, Montgomery County Department of Transportation
  • Juan Macias, CEO, AlphStruxure
  • Annette Clayton, CEO, Schneider Electric North America
  • Pooja Goyal, Partner and Chief Investment Officer, Carlyle Infrastructure Group

 PHOTO OP: The attendees will cut a ribbon immediately following the ceremonies. A facility tour will follow.

#  #  #


Media Contact: Barry Hudson 240-300-7348