Skip to main content

Press Releases - Department of Transportation

Walk to School Day is October 5

For Immediate Release: Wednesday, September 28, 2016

To celebrate International Walk to School Day, County Executive Ike Leggett, County Councilmembers Sidney Katz and Craig Rice, Montgomery County Public Schools Superintendent Dr. Jack Smith and MCDOT Director Al Roshdieh will join students, parents and community leaders as they walk to Whetstone Elementary School. Participants will meet at 8:30 a.m. at Centerway Park to start the walk and then gather at the school at 9:20 a.m. for a ceremony.


Joining participants will be teens from Watkins Mill High School who volunteer through a Department of Recreation program called Safe Walk to work with the elementary school kids who walk home from school.


From 10 to 11 a.m., AAA Mid-Atlantic will sponsor pedestrian safety assemblies featuring Otto the Auto.


Schools around the world celebrate International Walk to School Day by inviting students, parents and community leaders to walk to school together to promote safer streets, healthier habits, and cleaner air.  Although dozens of Montgomery County schools participate in this annual event, Whetstone Elementary School has been designated as this year’s Montgomery County focus school.


Whetstone Elementary School is located at 19201 Thomas Farm Road, Gaithersburg.


This year’s event has been made possible by the partnership of the following sponsors: Safe Kids Montgomery County, AAA Mid-Atlantic’s Foundation for Safety and Education, Federal Express, Montgomery County Department of Transportation, Montgomery County Fire and Rescue Service, Montgomery County Police, Montgomery County Department of Recreation and Whetstone Elementary School.


The Montgomery County Safe Routes to School Program wishes to acknowledge the following program organizers: Joe Beddick, Victoria Casey, Emilie Crown, Lorraine Driscoll, Officer John Johnson, Nadji Kirby, Beth Anne Nesselt, Renee Osuntuyi, and Sgt. Jim Whalen.  

Release ID: 16-203
Media Contact: Esther Bowring 240-777-7155

All MCDOT News Releases