Skip to main content

Press Releases

Montgomery County Charter Review Commission to hold public hearing on Oct. 18 at 7 p.m.

For Immediate Release: Friday, October 6, 2017

Montgomery County Charter Review Commission to

hold public hearing on Wednesday, Oct. 18 at 7 p.m.

Public invited to comment and attend meeting in Rockville on potential County Charter amendments

ROCKVILLE, Md., Oct. 6, 2017—The Montgomery County Charter Review Commission will hold a public hearing on Wednesday, Oct. 18 at 7 p.m. at the Council Office Building in Rockville to get suggestions from County residents about possible amendments to the Montgomery County Charter.  

The Charter is the constitutional framework for County government. Charter Section 509 provides for an 11-member, bi-partisan Charter Review Commission (CRC) to study the Montgomery County Charter. The Charter requires that the CRC submit its next report to the Council in May 2018. Any recommendations for possible Charter revisions would be considered by County voters.  

The CRC public hearing will be held in the Third Floor Hearing Room of the Council Office Building at 100 Maryland Ave. in Rockville. 

To sign up to speak at the public hearing, residents can call 240-777-7928 or email    

Issues that the CRC is currently considering include amendments that would alter the number of at-large and district seats on the Montgomery County Council, changing the method of selection for the County’s Redistricting Commission, and providing for the direct election by the voters of the Council President, who would serve a four-year term.  Residents can also testify about any other issues concerning the County Charter.  

Suggestions and comments also can be submitted to the Charter Review Commission in writing at Charter Review Commission, Montgomery County Council, 100 Maryland Avenue, 4th Floor, Rockville, MD 20850 or via email to .  

The Charter Review Commission is appointed by the Council every four years.  Its meetings are open to the public.  No more than six members are from the same political party.  The current members are Chair Paul Bessel, Vice Chair Sharon Freeman, Wendy Cohen, A. Lawrence Lauer, Timothy Lighter, Joshua Lipsky, Randy McDonald, Aryeh Shudofsky, Jonelle Williams and Edward Wisneski. More information about the CRC can be found at:  .

More information about the County Charter can be found at  .



# # # Release ID: 17-305
Media Contact: Sonya Healy 2407777926