Skip to main content

Press Releases

For Immediate Release: Thursday, October 4, 2018

Students throughout the County are encouraged to share their views with Councilmembers and earn student service learning hours

ROCKVILLE, Md., Oct. 4, 2018—The Montgomery County Council wants to know what is on the minds of young residents when it hosts its eighth annual youth town hall on Wednesday, October 24 at the Council Office Building in Rockville. The meeting, which will be held in the Council’s third floor hearing room, will take place from 7 to 8:30 p.m.  Doors open at 6 p.m. for a pre-meeting pizza reception for students and Councilmembers in the building’s second-floor cafeteria.  

The youth town hall and pre-meeting reception provides students with a chance to meet their local representatives and to ask questions and get information about the issues that matter to them.  At the pre-meeting reception, Councilmembers will visit with students and their family members.  In addition, Councilmember Craig Rice, who serves as chair of the Council’s Education Committee, will announce the winner of the Councilmember for a Day challenge.  

Council President Hans Riemer said that the youth town hall meetings have become learning experiences for both the Councilmembers and the students. 

“Young people from every area of our County are stepping up to show adults what leadership looks like,” said Council President Riemer.  “From school safety and gun control to social justice and mental health issues, our students are motivated and engaged in political discourse. We want to hear directly from them about what they need for their futures.” 

The Council Office Building is located at 100 Maryland Ave. in downtown Rockville. It is a three-block walk from the Rockville Metrorail station, which also is a main stopping point for many Ride On bus lines. For students traveling to the meeting by car, free parking will be available by entering the Council parking garage from the Fleet or Monroe Street entrances (see map).  

Students from public and private schools from around the County and students from local colleges are encouraged to express their views on any aspect of the Montgomery County Public Schools system, programs that impact students or public policy issues that impact their daily lives. They also are encouraged to ask questions of the Councilmembers. Students also can earn student service learning (SSL) hours for attending the youth town hall meeting.  Susan Kenedy, senior producer and communications specialist for the Council, will moderate the meeting.  

The meeting will be broadcast live on County Cable Montgomery (CCM—cable Channel 996 on Comcast, Channel 1056 on RCN, and Channel 30 on Verizon) and rebroadcast at various times in the weeks following the meeting. The meeting also will be streamed on Facebook Live and YouTube ( and  Students can participate via social media using #MoCoYouth.  

The Council is composed of President Hans Riemer, Vice President Nancy Navarro and Councilmembers Roger Berliner, Marc Elrich, Nancy Floreen, Tom Hucker, Sidney Katz, George Leventhal and Craig Rice.

If you need more information or have questions about the meeting, call 240-777-7926.

Learn more by watching:


# # # Release ID: 18-251
Media Contact: Sonya Healy 240-777-7926, Juan Jovel 240-777-7931