Skip to main content

Press Releases - County Council

Council virtual town hall meeting scheduled for Nov. 30 at 7 p.m.

For Immediate Release: Friday, November 20, 2020

ROCKVILLE, Md., Nov. 20, 2020—The Montgomery County Council will hold a virtual town hall meeting on Monday, Nov. 30 from 7-8:30 p.m. Councilmembers have scheduled this time to answer questions and listen to concerns from community members. Montgomery County Board of Education President Shebra Evans will join the meeting to discuss education issues, and County Health Officer and Chief of the Department of Health and Human Services' Public Health Services Dr. Travis Gayles will provide a public health update.

“As always, I look forward to hearing from our residents,” said Council President Sidney Katz. “During this most difficult time, it is more important than ever before to be in constant communication with those whom we serve. Our town hall meetings, whether in person or on Zoom, provide opportunities for the public to talk to us and tell us what is on their mind. I welcome your thoughts, and I wish everyone a safe and happy Thanksgiving.”

The virtual town hall will be held through a Zoom webinar. The meeting will be moderated by the Council's Communications Specialist Susan Kenedy who will take some questions from residents live on screen and others through the Zoom question and answer feature.

Community members must register ahead of time to participate in the virtual town hall through Zoom by clicking here. The Council must receive your registration by Nov. 29 at 2 p.m. Residents will receive an email confirmation with the appropriate Zoom information to participate no later than Nov. 30. Residents without internet access can call 240-777-7931 and leave a message to register.

The virtual town hall meeting will be televised on County Cable Montgomery on channels 30 (Fios), 1056 (RCN) and 996 (Xfinity). The meeting will be streamed on Facebook (MontgomeryCountyMdCouncil) and YouTube (MoCoCouncilMd). Residents also can listen to the virtual town hall meeting by calling 240-777-3333.

For more information or questions contact Juan Jovel at or call 240-777-7931. If you need assistance to participate in this meeting or in any Council activity, please contact the Council as far in advance as possible at 240-777-7900 or send an email to


The members of the 19th Montgomery County Council include: Council President Sidney Katz, Council Vice President Tom Hucker and Councilmembers Gabe Albornoz, Andrew Friedson, Evan Glass, Will Jawando, Nancy Navarro, Craig Rice and Hans Riemer. You can learn more about the Council and each of its members by visiting the Council’s web page at

Release ID: 20-463
Media Contact: Sonya Healy 240-777-7926 , Juan Jovel 240-777-7931