Skip to main content

Press Releases

Andrews, Berliner, Elrich, Ervin, Floreen, Leventhal and Navarro Re-Elected; Rice, Riemer Win Seats in Unofficial Results of Montgomery County Council Election Ambulance Fee Ballot Question Defeated by Approximate Margin of 54 to 46 Percent

For Immediate Release: Wednesday, November 3, 2010

ROCKVILLE, Md., November 3, 2010—Incumbents Phil Andrews, Roger Berliner, Marc Elrich, Valerie Ervin, Nancy Floreen, George Leventhal and Nancy Navarro were re-elected to the Montgomery County Council and will be joined by first-timers Craig Rice and Hans Riemer, according to unofficial results of the Nov. 2 general election released by the Montgomery County Board of Elections. A ballot question asking voters if they wanted to implement an ambulance transport fee proposed by County Executive Isiah Leggett was defeated, with approximately 46 percent of voters in favor and approximately 54 percent opposed.

The results remain unofficial until certified by the County Board of Elections. Ballots were cast by 46.5 percent of registered voters. Absentee, provisional and overseas ballots have yet to be counted. The new Council is scheduled to be sworn in on Monday, Dec. 6.

All nine seats on the Council were up for election. Councilmembers Elrich, Floreen and Leventhal, along with newcomer Riemer, won at-large seats. Councilmember Berliner was re-elected in District 1, Councilmember Andrews was re-elected in District 3, Councilmember Navarro was re-elected in District 4 and Councilmember Ervin was re-elected in District 5. Newcomer Rice won the District 2 seat, which is currently held by Mike Knapp, who chose not to seek re-election.

The unofficial results, with all 248 precincts reported, showed the following:

Unofficial results for Council at-large (four seats available)
Marc Elrich (D): 162,515 votes (17.23 percent)
Nancy Floreen (D): 161,152 (17.09 percent)
George L. Leventhal (D): 154,176 (16.35 percent)
Hans Riemer (D): 150,807 (15.99 percent)
Robert Dyer (R): 76,423 (8.10 percent)
Mark Fennel (R): 75,320 (7.99 percent)
Brandon Rippeon (R): 74,488 (7.9 percent)
Robin Uncapher (R): 72,084 (7.64 percent)
George Gluck (G): 15,116 (1.6 percent)

Unofficial results in District 1:
Roger Berliner (D): 41,066 votes (67.49 percent)
Rob Vricella (R): 19,697 (32.37 percent)

Unofficial results in District 2:
Craig Rice (D): 31,088 votes (59.20 percent)
Robin Ficker (R): 21,342 (40.64 percent)

Unofficial results in District 3:
Phil Andrews (D): 35,561 votes (98.08 percent)

Unofficial results in District 4:
Nancy Navarro (D): 36,408 votes (70.32 percent)
David Horner (R): 15,321 (29.59 percent)

Unofficial results in District 5:
Valerie Ervin (D): 35,919 votes (81.28 percent)
Joseph Russek (R): 8,196 (18.55 percent)

Unofficial results for Question A (Proposed Ambulance Fee):
For: 116,173 votes (46.17 percent)
Against: 135,434 (53.83 percent)

Results of all Montgomery County Council races, other County races and races for seats to the Maryland General Assembly are available at the Montgomery County Board of Elections web site at:

                                                                # # # # 

Release ID: 10-194
Media Contact: Neil Greenberger 240-777-7939, Delphine Harriston 240-777-7931