Skip to main content

COVID-19 Updates

Vaccine and Priority Group Information

Montgomery County Police Participates in Second Annual Litter Enforcement Month

For Immediate Release: Thursday, April 12, 2012

April is recognized as Litter Enforcement Month in and around the Washington, D.C. region, and the Montgomery County Police Department is once again participating in the Alice Ferguson Foundation and Metropolitan Washington Council of Government’s litter enforcement initiative.  During this initiative, which runs through April 30, MCP officers, along with many other local law enforcement agencies, will be particularly vigilant in identifying litter violations and enforcing the applicable criminal, traffic, and civil statutes.

All those who live, work, and travel through Montgomery County are reminded that throwing or dumping on any public highway or property (other than personal property) without the owner’s permission is illegal.  Anti-littering and dumping laws can be found in Maryland State law, Maryland Motor Vehicle law, and the Montgomery County Code.

  • Maryland State law CR 10-110 provides the stipulations against disposing or dumping of items under 100 pounds, over 100 pounds, and over 500 pounds.  Littering or dumping of items under 100 pounds is a misdemeanor and carries a penalty of up to 30 days in jail and/or up to a $1,500 fine.  Items 100-500 pounds carry a penalty of up to one year and/or up to a $12,500 fine.  Items over 500 pounds carry a penalty of up to five years and/or up to a $30,000 fine.
  • Maryland Motor Vehicle Law 21-1111 states that it is illegal to drop or place an injurious substance on a roadway.  It is also illegal to throw, deposit, or discharge refuse from a vehicle onto the roadway.  A citation for throwing any type of trash can result in a fine of up to $140 and two points.  If the littered substance contributes to a traffic collision, it may result in a fine of up to $180 and three points.
  • Montgomery County Code, Chapter 48, Section 11 provides both criminal and civil violations against dumping or littering on property and roadways.  A criminal violation carries a penalty of up to six months in jail and/or a $1,000 fine.  A civil violation carries a penalty fine up to $500 and a penalty fine up to $750 for a repeat offense.

The Montgomery County Police Department encourages the public to report violations of these laws by calling the police non-emergency number at 301-279-8000. The Department welcomes the assistance of the community to help achieve the goal of a trash-free Montgomery County.

# # #

Release ID: 12-027
Media Contact: mcpnews 
Categories: press-releases, uncategorized