Skip to main content

COVID-19 Updates

Vaccine and Priority Group Information

MCP Holds Quarterly Award Ceremony

For Immediate Release: Friday, December 15, 2017

The Montgomery County Police Department held its Quarterly Awards Ceremony on Wednesday, December 13 at the Public Safety Headquarters. The awards ceremony featured the presentation of the Medal of Valor, the Lifesaving Award, Commendation, Problem-Oriented Policing, and the Chief's Award. The award recipients are as follows:

Medal of Valor – The Department’s highest award.  The Medal of Valor is awarded to an employee for heroism and distinction in extremely hazardous circumstances. In order to be considered for this honor, an employee must exhibit unusual bravery in the performance of duty while facing the threat of death of serious injury.

Medal of Valor Recipient:

Police Officer III Matthew McGowan

Lifesaving Award – Awarded to an employee who makes a major contribution toward saving the life of another by providing essential medical treatment prior to arrival of Emergency Medical Services (EMS) personnel.

Lifesaving Award Recipients:

Police Officer III Vincent Chan

Police Officer II Brock Dulko 

Police Officer II Alex Lanham     

Police Officer III Brian Nesbitt  

Police Officer III Danielle Olsen         

Police Officer III Louvenna Pallas       

Police Officer II Justin Saffar             

Police Officer II Alysha Voytell  

Police Officer III Eric Werkmann

A Commendation –  Awarded to an employee who makes a significant contribution to the mission of the department beyond the ordinary call of duty. It recognizes those incidents wherein the member’s courage, resourcefulness, tenacity, and/or perseverance in the performance of the employee’s duties has resulted in the protection of life or property, the prevention of a major crime, or the apprehension of an armed and dangerous criminal.

Commendation Recipients:

Police Officer III Robert Atack    

Corporal Athanasios Bakalis 

Corporal Raymond Bennett  

Police Officer III Nicholas Bonturi   

Police Officer II Sean Brennan

Sergeant Keith Duggan

Police Officer III Michael Giacalone 

Police Officer III Percell Gregory Jr.  

Police Officer II Eric Houston

Police Officer I James Mirra

Sergeant Brian Parker 

Police Officer III Andres Ramirez  

Police Officer II Charles Ricucci  

Police Officer III Holman Santos

Police Officer II Katelyn Stevens

Police Officer III James Walls 

Police Officer III Gregory Walker

Police Officer III Alan Yuill  

Problem-Oriented Policing Award - The Problem-Oriented Policing Award is designed to recognize a person or group, who has gone above and beyond the person’s normal duties in the spirit of community policing.

Problem-Oriented Policing Award Recipients:

Police Officer II Jason Burkett

Police Officer II Brock Dulko

Chief’s Award - The Chief’s Award will be awarded by the Chief of Police to employees who exemplify the highest standards of service to the community by virtue of their diligence, dedication, and character.

Chief's Award Recipients:

Captain Darren Francke

Sergeant Mark Miller



# # #

Release ID: 17-424
Media Contact: mcpnews 
Categories: award