Skip to main content

COVID-19 Updates

Vaccine and Priority Group Information

MCP Holds Quarterly Award Ceremony

For Immediate Release: Wednesday, April 25, 2018

The Montgomery County Police Department held its Quarterly Awards Ceremony earlier today at the Public Safety Headquarters. The awards ceremony featured the presentation of the following awards: Lifesaving, Commendation, Problem-Oriented Policing, the Chief’s Award, and Supervisor of the Year. The award recipients are as follows:

Lifesaving Award – Awarded to an employee who makes a major contribution toward saving the life of another by providing essential medical treatment prior to the arrival of Emergency Medical Services (EMS) personnel.

Lifesaving Award Recipients:

Police Officer II Glenn Altshuler

Police Officer III Brandi Barber

Police Officer II Michelle Barger

Police Officer III James Barnes

Sergeant Alfred Dzenkowski

Police Officer III Nicholas Hoornstra

Sergeant Douglas Miller

Crossing Guard Pauling Miller

Sergeant James Rudnick

Police Officer III Emily Zupancic

A Commendation –  Awarded to an employee who makes a significant contribution to the mission of the department beyond the ordinary call of duty. It recognizes those incidents wherein the member’s courage, resourcefulness, tenacity, and/or perseverance in the performance of the employee’s duties has resulted in the protection of life or property, the prevention of a major crime, or the apprehension of an armed and dangerous criminal.

Commendation Recipients:

Forensic Specialist I Tiffany Brooks

Forensic Specialist II Kristine Calcara

Detective Fernando Carvajal

Detective Natalie Gwin

Detective Sergeant Lawrence Haley

Police Officer III Charles Heffley

Forensic Specialist II Jennifer Karschner

Forensic Specialist I Amanda Kraemer

Forensic Specialist I LaShon Perkins

Detective Dimitry Ruvin

Detective Frank Springer

Detective Beverly Then

Problem-Oriented Policing Award – The Problem-Oriented Policing Award is designed to recognize a person or group, who has gone above and beyond the person’s normal duties in the spirit of community policing.

Problem-Oriented Policing Award Recipient:

Police Officer II Brock Dulko

Chief’s Award – The Chief’s Award will be awarded by the Chief of Police to employees who exemplify the highest standards of service to the community by virtue of their diligence, dedication, and character.

Chief’s Award Recipient:

Sergeant Jonathan Green

Supervisor of the Year Award:

Sworn: Sergeant Paul Bandholz

Civilian: Spencer Kelly

Congratulations to all of the recipients.


# # #

Release ID: 18-168
Media Contact: mcpnews 
Categories: award