Skip to main content

COVID-19 Updates

Vaccine and Priority Group Information

MCP Holds Quarterly Awards Ceremony

For Immediate Release: Thursday, September 27, 2018

Yesterday (September 26), the Montgomery County Police Department held its Quarterly Awards Ceremony at the Public Safety Headquarters. The awards ceremony featured the presentation of the following awards: Lifesaving, Commendation, Problem-Oriented Policing, and the Chief’s Award.  The award recipients are as follows:

Lifesaving Award – Awarded to an employee who makes a major contribution toward saving the life of another by providing essential medical treatment prior to the arrival of Emergency Medical Services (EMS) personnel.

Lifesaving Award Recipients:

Police Officer II Domingos Araujo

Police Officer I Michelle Morgado

Police Officer II Mark Hugi

Police Officer II Laura Myers

A Commendation – Awarded to an employee who makes a significant contribution to the mission of the department beyond the ordinary call of duty. It recognizes those incidents wherein the member’s courage, resourcefulness, tenacity, and/or perseverance in the performance of the employee’s duties has resulted in the protection of life or property, the prevention of a major crime, or the apprehension of an armed and dangerous criminal.

Commendation Recipients:

Police Officer II Sean Brennan

Detective Melissa Dzenkowski

Police Officer I Ronald Felix Fortuna

Police Officer III Michael Giacalone

Public Safety Communications Specialist III Kelly Grasty

Detective Lanjon Guzman

Police Officer III Cody Hobbs

Detective Ian Iacoviello

Public Safety Communications Specialist III Cameron Ivory

Police Officer III Andrew Jacobs

Detective Nicholas Jerman

Detective Robert Johnson

Detective John King

Police Officer III Jesse Knuth

Police Officer III Jared Maurer

Police Officer III Beverly Lafleur

Police Officer III Jason McClain

Police Officer III Bret Mercer

Sergeant Neil Mohardt

Detective Sergeant David Papalia

Detective Sean Reilly

Detective Corporal Breness Smith

Police Officer III Steven Smugeresky

Police Officer III Cecil Williams II

Police Officer III Laura Zito

Problem-Oriented Policing Award – The Problem-Oriented Policing Award is designed to recognize a person or group, who has gone above and beyond the person’s normal duties in the spirit of community policing.

Problem-Oriented Policing Recipients:

Police Officer III Michelle Ballor

Police Officer II Casey Beck

Sergeant Ijeoma Enendu

Police Officer I Angella Ferrufino

Police Officer II Bradford Fox

Police Officer II Michael Joseph

Police Officer II Aaron McMullen

Police Officer II Ever Reyes

Chief’s Award – The Chief’s Award will be awarded by the Chief of Police to employees who exemplify the highest standards of service to the community by virtue of their diligence, dedication, and character.

Chief’s Award Recipient:

Sergeant Kenneth Sanger

Congratulations to all of the recipients.


# # #

Release ID: 18-404
Media Contact: mcpnews 
Categories: award