Skip to main content

Montgomery County Law Enforcement Agencies and DHHS to Participate in DEA Nationwide Prescription Drug Take-Back Day

For Immediate Release: Wednesday, October 23, 2019

On Saturday, October 26 between 10 a.m. and 2 p.m., community members can drop off unused, unwanted, or expired prescription drugs, as Montgomery County once again participates in the Washington Division of the Drug Enforcement Administration’s (DEA’s) National Prescription Drug Take-Back Day. Understanding the prevalence of opioid overdoses and abuse, this event is a particularly important means for the public to safely dispose of unused and unwanted opioid prescriptions and prevent their life-threatening abuse.

County law enforcement agencies and the Montgomery County Department of Health and Human Services Substance Abuse Prevention Office are co-sponsoring the effort. This is a safe, free, and anonymous opportunity to dispose of unused, unwanted, or expired prescription drugs and is part of a national effort to prevent the increasing problems of prescription drug abuse and theft that continues to occur nationwide.

Drop-off locations will be open to the general public throughout Montgomery County. These locations will accept prescription drugs and over-the-counter medications only. Liquids, illicit drugs, needles, sharps and syringes cannot be accepted as part of this take-back program. Montgomery County Police officers will staff collection boxes in the parking lots of the following facilities or in facility lobbies:

  • Bethesda:
Montgomery County Police 2nd District Station – 4823 Rugby Avenue

  • Chevy Chase:
Village of Friendship Heights Community Center – 4433 S. Park Avenue

  • Damascus
Damascus United Methodist Church - 9700 New Church Street

  • Gaithersburg/Montgomery Village:
Asbury Methodist Village - 301 Odendhal Avenue

North Creek Community Center - 20125 Arrowhead Road

**See Gaithersburg Police Department locations below.

  • Germantown:
Montgomery County Police 5th District Station – 20000 Aircraft Drive

Wegmans – 20600 Seneca Meadows Parkway

  • Leisure World
MedStar Pharmacy - 3305 N. Leisure World Boulevard

  • Rockville:
Bender Jewish Community Center (JCC) of Greater Washington – 6125 Montrose Roa

Montgomery County Police 1st District Station (located within the Public Safety Headquarters) - 100 Edison Park Drive

** See Rockville City Police Department locations below.

  • Silver Spring:
Fire Station 1/ 3rd District Central Business District Satellite Station – 8110 Georgia Avenue

Montgomery County Police 3rd District Station – 1002 Milestone Drive

  • Takoma Park
**See Takoma Park location below.

  • Wheaton:
Montgomery County Police 4th District Station – 2300 Randolph Road

Other law enforcement agencies:

**Gaithersburg Police Department - The Gaithersburg Police Department is now accepting unused or expired prescription medications at its police station all year round. More information can be found here.

**Rockville City Police/Montgomery County Sheriff's Office locations

**Takoma Park Police Department - The Takoma Park Police Department has a collection site that is open 24 hours a day, seven days a week. Drugs can be dropped off with no questions asked.  More information here.

**To search for additional drop-off sites, please visit the DEA's Drug Take-Back Day web page and use the collection site locator.

# # #

Release ID: 19-415
Media Contact: Rebecca Innocenti 
Categories: community-event, uncategorized