Skip to main content

COVID-19 Updates

Vaccine and Priority Group Information

MCP Holds Quarterly Awards Ceremony

For Immediate Release: Wednesday, November 6, 2019

Today (November 6), the Montgomery County Department of Police held its Quarterly Awards Ceremony at the J. Thomas Manger Public Safety Headquarters. The awards ceremony featured the presentation of the following awards: Medal of Valor, Lifesaving, Commendation, Chief’s Award, Supervisor of the Year (sworn and civilian), Chief's Certificate of Appreciation, and the Montgomery County Police Alumni Association Ethical Leadership Award.  Congratulations to all of the recipients!

The award recipients are as follows:

Medal of Valor Recipient:

Sergeant Scott Brooks

  • Medal of Valor – The Department’s highest award.  The Medal of Valor is awarded to an employee for heroism and distinction in extremely hazardous circumstances. In order to be considered for this honor, an employee must exhibit unusual bravery in the performance of duty while facing the threat of death or serious injury.

Lifesaving Award Recipients:

Police Officer I Jonathan Acevedo

Police Officer III Glenn Altshuler

Police Officer I Phillip Bolesta

Corporal Robert Farmer

Police Officer III Christopher Jordan

Police Officer III Andrew Synan

Police Officer III Marcy West

Police Officer III Samuel Yun

  • Lifesaving Award – Awarded to an employee who makes a major contribution toward saving the life of another by providing essential medical treatment prior to the arrival of Emergency Medical Services (EMS) personnel.

Commendation Recipients:

Police Officer III Ken Hahn

Police Officer III Charles Heffley

Police Officer II Toreno Herbert

Police Officer III Christopher Jordan

Sergeant Sunyoung Kim

Sergeant Eli Kinser

Police Officer III Helga Mathis-Negron

Police Officer I Paul McDonald

Police Officer II Benjamin Peluso

Police Officer III Jeff Rea

Police Officer III Andrew Richardson

Police Officer II Timothy Rueger

Corporal Romand Schmuck

Lieutenant Dave Smith

Sergeant Matthew Weidner

Police Officer II Brooks Wiggans

  • Commendation –  Awarded to an employee who makes a significant contribution to the mission of the department beyond the ordinary call of duty. It recognizes those incidents wherein the member’s courage, resourcefulness, tenacity, and/or perseverance in the performance of the employee’s duties have resulted in the protection of life or property, the prevention of a major crime, or the apprehension of an armed and dangerous criminal.

Chief’s Award Recipients:

Police Officer III Bradley Schmidt

  • Chief’s Award – The Chief’s Award will be awarded by the Chief of Police to employees who exemplify the highest standards of service to the community by virtue of their diligence, dedication, and character.

Supervisor of the Year Award:

Sworn: Sergeant Douglas Miller

Civilian: Mark Blackburn

Chief’s Certificate of Appreciation:

Lieutenant Wesley Owens (Montgomery County Fire and Rescue Service)

Montgomery County Police Alumni Association Ethical Leadership Award:

Police Officer III Steve Smugeresky

# # #

Release ID: 19-433
Media Contact: Rick Goodale 
Categories: award