Skip to main content

Prescription Drug Disposal Boxes Now Available at Six District Police Stations

For Immediate Release: Thursday, August 27, 2020

Prescription drug disposal boxes are now located in all six Montgomery County Department of Police district station lobbies for residents' use.  Residents can bring their expired, unwanted, or unused prescription medications to a district station and dispose of these medications safely, conveniently, and responsibly.

Accepted items:

  • Prescriptions
  • Vitamins
  • Prescription Ointments
  • Pet Medications
  • Prescription Patches
  • Over-the-Counter Medications
Not Accepted items:

  • Needles
  • Inhalers
  • Aerosol Cans
  • Thermometers
  • Lotions or Liquids
  • Hydrogen Peroxide
These boxes are accessible 24 hours a day, seven days a week.  Drugs can be dropped off with no questions asked.

**Please wear a mask when entering the police station and practice social distancing.  Thank you!

Six District Stations:

1st District (Rockville)

2nd District (Bethesda)

3rd District (Silver Spring)

4th District (Wheaton)

5th District (Germantown)

6th District (Gaithersburg/Montgomery Village) 

# # #

Release ID: 20-318
Media Contact: Rebecca Innocenti 
Categories: public-service, uncategorized