Skip to main content

Press Releases

Wheaton Friday Night Free Concert Series returns at 7 p.m. tonight featuring ‘The Soul Crackers’

For Immediate Release: Thursday, June 7, 2018

Series will have bands playing in Wheaton Veterans Urban Park on second and fourth Fridays through August

The Wheaton Friday Night Free Concert Series will return for the summer starting at 7 p.m. Friday, June 8, as “The Soul Crackers” kick off the first of six concerts at Wheaton Veterans Urban Park.

The park is located at 11200 Amherst Ave. and Reedie Drive in Wheaton (behind the Safeway supermarket and one block from the Wheaton Metro Station). Attendees are advised to bring chairs or blankets to better enjoy the outdoor atmosphere.

The concert series is being hosted by the Wheaton Urban District in partnership with Montgomery County Parks. Concerts will be held the second and fourth Fridays of June, July and August.

The Washington, D.C.-based Soul Crackers are known for their combination of classic Southern soul, Motown and 1970's funk. The band was originally formed in 1982 and became a full-time regular on the East Coast bar circuit for many years. The Soul Crackers headlined shows at venues such as the Bayou and the Wax Museum. They played at the White House in 1994.

The band members include Tommy Lepson (lead vocals, guitar), Chuck Sullivan (drums), Spencer Hoopes (keyboards, vocals), Ronnie Newmyer (bass, vocals), Keith Grimes (guitar, vocals), Wayne Sulc (sax, vocals), Chris Hutton (trumpet), Cesar Vanegas (percussion), Anita King (vocals) and Caz Gardiner (vocals).

The remainder of the concert series, with each starting at 7 p.m.:

  • June 22: King Teddy
  • July 13: Billy Mayfield and the Soul Truth
  • July 27: The Crawdaddies
  • August 10: Sin Miedo
  • August 24: The Nighthawks

For more information about the summer series, check flyer.

# # #

Release ID: 18-587
Media Contact: Sidney Cooper 240-777-8106