Skip to main content

Press Releases - County Council

Montgomery Councilmember Andrew Friedson Receives Phyllis Campbell Newsome Public Policy Leadership Award

For Immediate Release: Tuesday, November 5, 2019

From the Office of Councilmember Friedson

Friedson Honored for His Work Partnering with the Nonprofit Sector to Ensure More Vibrant Communities 

ROCKVILLE, Md., Nov. 5, 2019—Montgomery County Councilmember Andrew Friedson, who is in his first term representing District 1, today received the 2019 Phyllis Campbell Newsome Public Policy Leadership Award from the Center for Nonprofit Advancement. The award was presented at the Center’s 40th Anniversary Celebration at Union Stage in Washington, D.C.

The Phyllis Campbell Newsome Public Policy Leadership Award recognizes the work of elected and non-elected officials who have gone above and beyond in partnership with the nonprofit sector to help create more vibrant communities. Since being sworn in to represent District 1 on the County Council in December 2018, Councilmember Friedson has been a staunch advocate for nonprofit organizations in Montgomery County. Before joining the Council, Councilmember Friedson served as chair of the Montgomery County Collaboration Council for Children, Youth, and Families and was active in several charities and nonprofits, including the Jewish Federation of Greater Washington.

“I’m humbled to be recognized by the nonprofit organizations in our community who do so much for so many,” said Councilmember Friedson. “I see this award less as a recognition for what I’ve done and rather as a call to action for what I’m capable of doing. I intend to work as hard as I can for as long as I can to earn it and to carry forward Phyllis Campbell Newsome’s extraordinary legacy of service and sacrifice.”

Each year the center recognizes four public officials for the award, one for each of the jurisdictions it supports. Other 2019 award winners included Prince George’s County at-large Councilmember Calvin Hawkins, Virginia District 9 State Senator Jennifer McClellan, and D.C. at-large Councilmember Robert White.

Past Montgomery County award winners include former County Executive Isiah “Ike” Leggett (2018), District 17 State Senator Cheryl Kagan (2017), and Council President Nancy Navarro (2016).

The Center for Nonprofit Advancement is celebrating its 40th year of service. Its mission is to strengthen, promote and represent nonprofit organizations in the Washington metropolitan area to help them better meet the diverse needs of their communities. The Center for Nonprofit Advancement, founded in 1979 and originally called the Washington Council of Agencies, currently serves nearly 1,000 organizational members.

The Phyllis Campbell Newsome Public Policy Leadership Award was named in honor of the Center for Nonprofit Advancement’s former director of advocacy and community relations after her untimely passing in 2002 at age 40.


Release ID: 19-348
Media Contact: Aaron Kraut 240-777-7962