Skip to main content

Press Releases - County Council

Council meeting on June 25 is canceled; Council committee work continues as scheduled

For Immediate Release: Wednesday, June 24, 2020

Health and Human Services Committee will review Interagency Commission on Homelessness bill and issues related to homelessness and housing during Covid-19 pandemic; Planning, Housing and Economic Development and Transportation and Environment Committees will review e-scooters bill

The Council will meet virtually on Thursday, June 25 at 2:30 p.m. Council staff reports and additional information on items scheduled for Council and Committee review can be viewed here. The Council meeting schedule may change from time to time. The current Council and Committee agendas can be viewed here.

On the guidance of Health Officer and Chief of Public Health Services Dr. Travis Gayles, there is currently no public access to the Council Office Building. The virtual Council meeting and all Committee meetings will be streamed live on the Council’s web page via YouTube and on Facebook Live and can be watched on County Cable Montgomery on: Xfinity/RCN 6 HD 996/1056 and Fios 30.

The following Committees will meet virtually on Thursday, June 25:

Committee: Health and Human Services (HHS)
Date: Thursday June 25
Time: 9:30 a.m.
HHS Committee: Councilmembers Gabe Albornoz (chair), Evan Glass (lead for homelessness and vulnerable communities) and Craig Rice
Bill 7-20, Interagency Commission on Homelessness - Membership and Duties

The HHS Committee will review Bill 7- 20, which would alter the membership and duties of the Interagency Commission on Homelessness. Councilmembers Evan Glass, Gabe Albornoz and Craig Rice are the lead sponsors. All other Councilmembers are cosponsors. The Interagency Commission on Homelessness (ICH) is a 25-member commission created by the Council in 2014 to coordinate public and private programs to reduce homelessness in the County. The ICH has requested that several modifications and updates be made to its membership and duties. The purpose of these amendments is to improve the governance and effectiveness of the ICH, as well as to clarify the mission of the ICH to “end and prevent” homelessness, as opposed to simply reducing homelessness. Under Bill 7-20, the ICH would remain a 25- member commission, but its composition would change. At the request of the ICH, certain ex officio slots would be replaced with more public representatives, including homeless service providers, healthcare providers, family services providers and affordable housing providers.

The Council staff report can be viewed here.

Overview of Findings from MWCOG 2020 Point-in-Time Survey; Moving People to Permanent Housing during the Covid-19 Health Emergency (update on Covid-19 assistance); Proposal from Bethesda Cares for Veteran and Vulnerable Unsheltered Single Adults; Recovery Framework: (a) Homeless Crisis Response and (b) Eviction and Homelessness Prevention

The HHS Committee will also review the Metropolitan Washington Council of Government’s (MWCOG) Point-in-Time Count. Each year, MWCOG conducts a survey that counts all people who can be found and identified as homeless over the day of the survey. Because this survey is limited to one day, it can be impacted by weather and other factors. In 2020, the point-in-time survey occurred on January 22, prior to the Covid-19 health emergency.

The Committee also will receive updates on the County’s strategic plan on homelessness, the current number of individuals and adults needing placement and the impacts of the Covid-19 pandemic on rapid rehousing efforts, among other topics.

Those expected to attend the meeting include the following: Amanda Harris, dhief, Services to End and Prevent Homelessness, Department of Health and Human Services; Frank Demarais, deputy director, Department of Housing and Community Affairs; and John Mendez, executive director, Bethesda Cares.

The Council staff report can be viewed here.

Committee: Transportation & Environment (T&E) and Public Safety (PS) Committees
Date: Thursday, June 25
Time: 1:30 p.m.
T&E Committee: Council Vice President Tom Hucker (chair), Councilmembers Evan Glass and Hans Riemer
PS Committee: Council President Sidney Katz (chair), Councilmember Gabe Albornoz and Council Vice President Tom Hucker
Bill 8-20, E-Scooters - Operating Requirements and Registration

The T&E and PS Committees will meet jointly to review Bill 8-20. Council President Sidney Katz is the lead sponsor. Councilmember Gabe Albornoz is a cosponsor. Bill 8-20 would do the following: update the definition of bicycle to conform to state law; permit a person to register a bicycle or electric low-speed scooter (e-scooter) owned by a County resident for personal use; require the registration of an e-scooter provided for rent in the County and pay a registration fee; establish operating requirements for e-scooter use in the County; and generally amend County law governing bicycle and e-scooter use in the County.

The Council staff report can be viewed here.

# # #

Release ID: 20-277
Media Contact: Nicholas Triolo 240-777-7932 , Juan Jovel 240-777-7931