Skip to main content

Press Releases - County Council

Council virtual town hall meeting scheduled for July 23 at 7 p.m.

For Immediate Release: Thursday, July 16, 2020

ROCKVILLE, Md., July 16, 2020—The Montgomery County Council will hold a virtual town hall meeting on Thursday, July 23 from 7-8:30 p.m. Councilmembers have scheduled this time to answer questions and listen to concerns from community members. Councilmembers will be joined by Montgomery County Board of Education President Shebra Evans to discuss education issues. In addition, County Health Officer and Chief of the Department of Health and Human Services' Public Health Services Dr. Travis Gayles will provide a public health update.

“Community conversations are one of the best ways to find solutions to problems,” said Council President Sidney Katz. “The Montgomery County Council has been working at a swift pace to provide the resources needed to assist residents during this challenging time, but we know that there is much more work to do. This virtual town hall will allow us to hear directly from our residents about what is working well and what needs to be improved, as we all work together.”

The virtual town hall will be held through Zoom, and residents will be able to ask questions through the audio feed. The meeting will be moderated by the Council's Communications Specialist Susan Kenedy.

Community members must register ahead of time to participate in the virtual town hall at the Council's web site on the public hearing page by locating the event and clicking sign up. The Council must receive your registration by July 22. Residents will receive an email confirmation with the appropriate Zoom information to participate on July 23. Residents without internet access can call 240-777-7803 and leave a message to register.

The virtual town hall meeting will be televised on County Cable Montgomery on channels 30 (Fios), 1056 (RCN) and 996 (Xfinity). The meeting will be streamed on Facebook (MontgomeryCountyMdCouncil) and YouTube (MoCoCouncilMd). Residents also can listen to the virtual town hall meeting by calling 240-777-3333.

For more information or questions contact Juan Jovel at or call 240-777-7931. If you need assistance to participate in this meeting or in any Council activity, please contact the Council as far in advance as possible at 240-777-7900 or send an email to


The members of the 19th Montgomery County Council include: Council President Sidney Katz, Council Vice President Tom Hucker and Councilmembers Gabe Albornoz, Andrew Friedson, Evan Glass, Will Jawando, Nancy Navarro, Craig Rice and Hans Riemer. You can learn more about the Council and each of its members by visiting the Council’s web page at .

Release ID: 20-305
Media Contact: Sonya Healy 240-777-7926 , Juan Jovel 240-777-7931