Skip to main content

Press Releases - County Council

Planning, Housing and Economic Development and Transportation and Environment Committees Hold Joint Virtual Meeting on July 22 at 9:30 a.m.

For Immediate Release: Tuesday, July 21, 2020

The Planning, Housing and Economic Development (PHED) and Transportation and Environment (T&E) Committees will meet virtually on Wednesday, July 22. Council staff reports and additional information on items scheduled for Committee review can be viewed here. The Committee meeting schedule may change from time to time. The current Committee agendas can be viewed here

On the guidance of Health Officer and Chief of Public Health Services Dr. Travis Gayles, there is currently no public access to the Council Office Building. The virtual Council meeting will be streamed live on the Council’s web page via YouTube (MoCoCouncilMD) and on Facebook Live (MontgomeryCountyMdCouncil) and can be watched on County Cable Montgomery on channels 30 (Fios), 1056 (RCN) and 996 (Xfinity).

Committee: Planning, Housing and Economic Development (PHED) and Transportation and Environment (T&E)

Date: Wednesday, July 22

Time: 9:30 a.m.

PHED Committee: Councilmembers Hans Riemer (chair), Andrew Friedson (lead for parks) and Will Jawando

T&E Committee: Council Vice President Tom Hucker (chair), Councilmembers Evan Glass and Hans Riemer


ZTA 20-01, Solar Collection System - AR Zone Standards

The PHED and T&E Committees will meet jointly to continue reviewing Zoning Text Amendment (ZTA) 20-01. This ZTA would revise the solar collection system use standards to allow larger facilities in the Agricultural Resource (AR) Zone. Councilmember Hans Riemer and Council Vice President Tom Hucker are the lead sponsors. Councilmember Craig Rice is a cosponsor. The total amount of collection systems on all parcels would be limited to 1,800 acres. Any collection system constructed under the proposed amendment must be designated pollinator-friendly under the Maryland Pollinator-Friendly Designation Program. The individuals expected to participate in the meeting include the following: Casey Anderson, chair, Montgomery County Planning Board; Robert Kronenberg, deputy director, Planning Department; Richard Weaver, Area 3 chief, Planning Department; Greg Russ, planner coordinator, Planning Department; Christopher McGovern, GIS manager, Planning Department; Adriana Hochberg, climate change coordinator, Office of the County Executive; Stan Edwards, chief, Division of Environmental Policy and Compliance, DEP; Sarah Ramirez, GIS specialist, DEP; Jeremy Criss, director, Office of Agriculture; and Mike Scheffel, director of Planning and Promotions, Office of Agriculture.

The Council staff report can be viewed here.

# # #

Release ID: 20-318
Media Contact: Nicholas Triolo 240-777-7832 , Juan Jovel 240-777-7831