Skip to main content

Press Releases - County Council

Council reappoints Gerald Cichy to Montgomery County Planning Board

For Immediate Release: Tuesday, July 28, 2020

ROCKVILLE, Md., July 28, 2020—Today the Montgomery County Council unanimously reappointed Gerald Cichy to the Montgomery County Planning Board. First appointed to the Planning Board by the Council in 2016, this will be Cichy's second term.

“The Council looks forward to continuing to work with Gerald Cichy on planning issues related to economic development, expanding multimodal transportation, growing our housing stock, improving bicycle and pedestrian safety and more,” said Council President Sidney Katz. “His decades of experience will continue to serve the Planning Board and Montgomery County well, as we work together to plan communities, protect natural, cultural and historical resources and provide world-class leisure and recreational experiences for our residents. The Council is grateful for his ongoing public service.”

Cichy has more than 50 years of experience in transportation and planning in Montgomery County and the Washington region. From 1979-1984, he was the director of the Montgomery County Department of Transportation where he collaborated with federal, state and county agencies as well as developer and community groups to solve problems and address transportation issues. Cichy also worked as a senior executive at the Maryland Department of Transportation on projects such as the Corridor Cities Transitway, the Purple Line light rail system and regional, transit-oriented developments.

“I believe by continuing to serve on the Montgomery County Planning Board, I can continue to give back to my Montgomery County community in a meaningful and effective way,” Cichy wrote to the Council in his letter of application. “I have always been willing to listen to other viewpoints, and to then seek win-win solutions.”

Maryland law requires that no more than three members of the Planning Board be from the same political party. In addition to Cichy, who is a Republican, the current Planning Board members include Chair Casey Anderson (Democrat), Vice Chair Natali Fani-Gonzalez (Democrat), Tina Patterson (Unaffiliated) and Partap Verma (Democrat).


Release ID: 20-334
Media Contact: Sonya Healy 240-777-7926 , Juan Jovel 240-777-7931