Skip to main content

Press Releases - County Council

Commission on Redistricting meets April 14 at 5 p.m.

For Immediate Release: Tuesday, April 13, 2021

ROCKVILLE, Md., April 13, 2021—The third meeting of the Commission on Redistricting will take place via Zoom on Wednesday, April 14 from 5 to 6:30 p.m. and will be livestreamed on the Montgomery County Council's Facebook page.

The Commission on Redistricting was established after the confirmation of 11 appointed members by the Council on Jan. 26. In the 2020 general election, the Montgomery County Charter was amended by the voters to require the County to be divided into seven Council districts to elect seven district and four at-large members of the Council. The Charter required that the Council appoint a Commission on Redistricting composed of 11 registered voters who reside in the County.

At the last meeting, the Commission received a presentation on the legal requirements of the redistricting process as well as other topics relevant to the Commission’s work.

The third meeting of the Commission on Redistricting will begin with greetings by Commission Chair Mariana Cordier and will be followed by approval of the meeting minutes. Then, the meeting will continue with a presentation from Alysoun McLaughlin, Deputy Election Director of the Montgomery County Board of Elections, on the role of the Board of Elections in redistricting. The presentation will include information on how to define election precincts, present the 2021-2022 schedule for the Board of Elections and answer questions.

Following this first presentation, Dr. Peter Miller of the Brennan Center for Justice will conduct a presentation on fair redistricting, which will cover redistricting best practices, quantitative methods on how to define the concept of communities and answer any questions from commissioners. The meeting will end with some closing remarks.

The members of the Commission on Redistricting are as follows: Imad Aldean Ahmad, Laura Ard, Mariana Cordier, Keshia Desir, Arthur Edmunds, Valerie Ervin, Bruce Goldensohn, Jason Makstein, Nilmini Rubin, Samuel Statland and David Stein.

Residents can view the meeting on the Council's Facebook page (@MontgomeryCountyMdCouncil).

The full agenda for this meeting can be viewed here.

Meeting minutes for this meeting will be available here at a later date.


Release ID: 21-153
Media Contact: Pamela Dunn 240-777-7940