Skip to main content

Press Releases - County Council

Council Invites Montgomery County Residents to Virtual Community Town Hall Meeting on Wednesday, Sept. 29 at 7:30 p.m.

For Immediate Release: Wednesday, September 22, 2021

Topics to include discussion of public health, the County’s ongoing COVID-19 recovery efforts, Thrive Montgomery 2050, redistricting and more

ROCKVILLE, Md., Sept. 22, 2021—The Montgomery County Council will hold a virtual town hall meeting on Wednesday, Sept. 29 from 7:30 to 9 p.m. Councilmembers have scheduled this time to answer questions and listen to concerns from community members. Some of the topics for discussion will include public health, the County’s ongoing COVID-19 recovery efforts, the Thrive Montgomery 2050 Draft Plan which is a framework to guide planning for land use, housing and transportation for the next three decades, redistricting and other issues of community concern.

“Ongoing community engagement is an essential element of public service,” said Council President Tom Hucker. “Hosting town hall meetings enables Councilmembers to hear from every corner of our community and has proved to be a convenient way for residents to tell us what is on their minds and learn more about important public issues. I’m looking forward to a robust discussion with our residents and encourage everyone to join us.”

The virtual town hall will be held through a Zoom webinar. The meeting will be moderated by the Council's Communications Specialist Susan Kenedy who will take some questions from residents live on screen and others through the Zoom question and answer feature.

Community members must register ahead of time to participate in the virtual town hall through Zoom by clicking here. The Council must receive your registration by Sept. 28 at 9 a.m. Residents will receive an email confirmation with the appropriate Zoom information to participate no later than Sept. 28. Residents without internet access can call 240-777-7832 and leave a message to register.

The virtual town hall meeting will be televised on County Cable Montgomery on channels 30 (Fios), 1056 (RCN) and 996 (Xfinity). The meeting will be streamed on Facebook (MontgomeryCountyMdCouncil) and YouTube (MoCoCouncilMd). Residents also can listen to the virtual town hall meeting by calling +13017158592,,81544449703#.

For more information or questions contact Lucia Jimenez at or call 240-777-7832. If you need assistance to participate in this meeting or in any Council activity, please contact the Council as far in advance as possible at 240-777-7900 or send an email to


The members of the 19th Montgomery County Council include: Council President Tom Hucker, Council Vice President Gabe Albornoz and Councilmembers Andrew Friedson, Evan Glass, Sidney Katz, Will Jawando, Nancy Navarro, Craig Rice and Hans Riemer. You can learn more about the Council and each of its members by visiting the Council’s web page at

Release ID: 21-368
Media Contact: Sonya Healy 240-777-7926, Lucia Jimenez 240-777-7932