Skip to main content

Press Releases - County Council

Montgomery County Council Seeks Applicants for County Charter Review Commission

For Immediate Release: Monday, October 18, 2021

Deadline is 5 pm on Monday, November 15 

ROCKVILLE, MD., Oct. 18, 2021 —The Montgomery County Council is accepting applications to fill a vacancy on the Charter Review Commission (CRC) due to the unexpected passing of Ruth Kirinda (Republican). Since no more than six members can be from the same political party, this appointee may be a Republican, someone who declines to affiliate with a party, or a member of another party officially recognized by the Board of Elections. The appointee cannot be a Democrat. The term of the current Commission will expire on December 4, 2022.

The Commission researches and evaluates Charter issues raised by the County Executive, County Council, other government officials and the public. Commission reports are submitted no later than May 1 of every even-numbered year. These reports contain recommendations concerning any proposed Charter amendments.

Letters expressing interest, along with a resume (no longer than 4 pages in length), including professional and civic experience, political party affiliation, contact information and an e-mail address can be submitted via email to Council President Tom Hucker at or mailed to the Office of the Montgomery County Council, 100 Maryland Avenue, 4th Floor, Rockville, MD 20850.

The CRC typically meets from 8:00-9:30 a.m. on the second Wednesday of the month. A member must serve without compensation. However, a member may request reimbursement for mileage and dependent care costs at rates established by the County.

Letters of applications must be received no later than 5:00 p.m. on Monday, November 15. It is the Council’s policy not to consider applications received after the deadline. After the closing date, Councilmembers will review the applications and select applicants for interviews.

Current members are George Margolies (Dem), Chair; Ronald Stubblefield (Dem), Vice Chair; David Hill (Dem); Lawrence Lauer (Rep); Perry Paylor (Dem); Nichole Thomas (Unaffiliated); Christopher Danley (Rep); Katherine Gugulis (Rep); Susan Miles (Dem); and Galina Teverovsky (Dem).

For more information about the CRC visit the website at or for information regarding the vacancy, contact

# # #

Release ID: 21-405
Media Contact: Sara Tenenbaum