Skip to main content

Press Releases - County Council

Incumbent Montgomery County Councilmembers Albornoz, Friedson, Glass, Jawando and Katz are Winners in the Gubernatorial General Election

For Immediate Release: Wednesday, November 9, 2022

Sayles wins at-large seat and Balcombe, Fani-González, Luedtke, Mink and Stewart win in district races

Incumbent Montgomery County Councilmembers Gabe Albornoz, Evan Glass, Will Jawando and former Gaithersburg City Councilmember Laurie-Anne Sayles were the unofficial winners in the Tuesday, Nov. 8, 2022, Gubernatorial General Election for the four at-large seats on the Montgomery County Council. Incumbents Andrew Friedson (District 1) and Sidney Katz (District 3) were the unofficial winners in their respective district races. In the races for five open Council seats, Marilyn Balcombe (District 2), Kate Stewart (District 4), Kristin Mink (District 5), Natali Fani-González (District 6) and Dawn Luedtke (District 7) were unofficial winners. 

"Serving the people of Montgomery County in this role has been the honor of my lifetime, and I'm humbled to continue to serve for another four years with new and diverse voices on the Council," said Council President Albornoz. "I want to express my deepest gratitude to all of the outstanding bipartisan election workers, volunteers and staff at the Board of Elections for their service and tireless work this election season. As mail-in ballots continue to be counted, Montgomery County's elections team is hard at work ensuring that all County voices are heard through our democratic process."

“It's been an honor serving the residents of Montgomery County for the last four years and I'm ready to begin working with our new colleagues over the next four to move our community forward,” Vice President Glass said. “From supporting our small businesses and making our housing more affordable to improving our transportation network and keeping our residents healthy and safe, there is more to do to support our 1.1 million residents. Let’s get to work.”

 The election results remain unofficial until they are certified by the Board of Elections. 

Counting for vote-by-mail ballots began Saturday, Oct. 15 at 9 a.m. Canvassing of provisional ballots begins Wednesday, Nov. 16, and canvassing of the remaining vote-by-mail ballots returned by the statutory deadline will begin on Friday, Nov. 18. Canvass session are open to the public and will be livestreamed. Learn more.  

Results of the Montgomery County Council elections, elections for other County races and for seats to the Maryland General Assembly are available at the Montgomery County Board of Elections web site at:

# # #

Release ID: 22-384
Media Contact: Sonya Healy 240-777-7926, Genevieve Kurtz 240-777-7805
Categories: Andrew Friedson, Evan Glass, Gabe Albornoz, Sidney Katz, Will Jawando