Skip to main content

Press Releases

Montgomery County Executive Elrich, Council President Glass to Join Committee Against Hate/Violence Antisemitism Panel Discussion on Wed., March 22, in Rockville

For Immediate Release: Thursday, March 16, 2023

Montgomery County Council Executive Marc Elrich, County Council President Evan Glass and Councilmember Andrew Friedson are among those expected to join the County Committee Against Hate/Violence (CAHV) panel discussion on “Anti-Semitism in Montgomery County” at 7 p.m. on Wednesday, March 22. The in-person event at the County’s Executive Office Building in Rockville also will be viewable online.

The Executive Office Building is located at 101 Monroe Street in Rockville. The panel discussion can be viewed live online at

The County Committee Against Hate/Violence is a division of the County’s Office of Human Rights. The goal of the CAHV antisemitism panel discussion is to create greater community awareness of how antisemitism is defined and how the problem affects all residents.   

In addition to County Executive Elrich, Council President Glass and Councilmember Friedson, its panel discussion is expected to include Lieutenant Kevin Parker of the Montgomery County Police Department and Afriam Katzir, executive director of Sephardic Heritage International. Craig Simon, vice chair of the CAHV, will be the moderator. Lisa Taylor, the CAHV chair, will deliver opening remarks.

Montgomery County and the nation have seen a high rise in physical/verbal incidents of antisemitism directed at Jewish-Americans, their institutions and upon County facilities. There also have been incidents of hate/bias directed at minority groups. The goal of the CAHV Antisemitism panel discussion is to create greater community awareness of how this problem affects all residents.    

The Committee Against Hate Violence is a 15-member committee appointed by the County Executive and approved by County Council. The committee is tasked to develop and distribute information about hate/violence, promote educational activities, recommend policies, programs and legislation and advise the County Executive and County Council on ways to reduce the incidences of acts if hate/violence.

For further information, contact Craig Simon at or 818-406-4953;  Richard W. Allen at or 301-366-9361; or James Stowe, director of the County Office of Human Rights, at or 240-888-5502.   

# # #

Release ID: 23-116
Media Contact: Richard W. Allen 301-366-9361
Categories: Executive Office