Skip to main content

Press Releases

For Immediate Release: Thursday, December 21, 2023

All Maryland employers will have to pay their hourly employees a minimum wage of $15 per hour starting Jan. 1, 2024. This requirement stems from the enactment of Maryland Senate Bill 555 (SB555), also known as the Fair Wage Act of 2023, which was signed into law by Maryland Governor Wes Moore on April 11, 2023.

With most Montgomery County-based employers already required by County law to pay a minimum wage rate of $15 or more per hour, the new State law will apply to Montgomery County employers with 10 or fewer employees who must raise employee wages from $14.50 to $15 per hour beginning Jan. 1.

min wage

Montgomery County Executive Marc Elrich championed the County’s minimum wage law when he was a County Councilmember, leading two successful efforts to raise the County minimum wage. Montgomery County’s current minimum wage law went into effect on July 1, 2018. It phased in higher minimum wage rates for large, mid-sized and small businesses. Under the provisions of the County law, the minimum wage rate was scheduled to go to $15 for small businesses on July 1, 2024. The increase for small businesses is now accelerated as a result of the new Maryland law.

“We applaud Governor Wes Moore’s efforts to help all Marylanders,” said County Executive Elrich. “The minimum wage is ultimately about working people being able to earn enough to put a roof over their heads, feed their families and not have to choose between food on the table and medical visits. I want to thank Governor Moore for making this one of his earliest priorities. I was glad to testify on behalf of the legislation, and I support this important State-wide legislation.”

On July 1, 2023, the County minimum wage increased to:

  • $16.70 per hour for large employers (those with 51 employees or more).
  • $15.00 per hour for mid-sized employers (11-50 employees).
  • $14.50 per hour for small employers (1-10 employees).

Employers in Montgomery County are obligated to comply with the State or County’s minimum wage, whichever is higher. Therefore, large employers in the County are required to continue paying their employees a minimum wage of $16.70 per hour.

County minimum wages rates starting July 1, 2024, have not yet been set. If adjustments to the rates are mandated, County law requires the changes to be based on the Consumer Price Index for all urban wage earners and clerical workers in the Washington region from the preceding year.

For additional details regarding the minimum wage in Montgomery County, visit

# # #

Release ID: 23-554
Media Contact: Jennifer Garfinkel 240-962-1506
Categories: Business