Skip to main content

COVID-19 Updates

Vaccine and Priority Group Information

43rd Annual Montgomery County Chamber of Commerce Public Safety Awards

For Immediate Release: Friday, March 31, 2017

Today, March 31, the Montgomery County Chamber of Commerce recognized local public safety personnel for their acts of bravery and heroism at the 43rd Annual Public Safety Awards luncheon.

Congratulations to the following Montgomery County police officers who were honored today for their responses to the following incidents:

  • Northampton Drive Repeat Offender

    • Officer Yves Didier N’Kodia, Honorable Mention
  • Domestic Violence in Germantown

    • Sergeant Manuel Saponara, Honorable Mention
    • Officer Brian Holloway, Honorable Mention
  • Suicide Attempt in Germantown

    • Officer Dale Steffen, Honorable Mention
  • Deadly Shootings at Westfield Montgomery and Aspen Hill shopping centers

    • Officer David Kocevar, Bronze Award
    • Sergeant Brady Clouser, Bronze Award
    • Corporal Jeffrey Rachael, Bronze Award
    • Detective Donnie Oaks, Bronze Award
    • Detective Kenneth Halter, Bronze Award
    • Detective Roger St. Louis, Bronze Award
    • Detective Thomas Tippett, Bronze Award
    • Detective Richard Volpe, Bronze Award
    • Detective Charles Bullock, Bronze Award
    • Detective Dominic Dinisio, Bronze Award
  • Flower Branch Apartments Explosion/Fire

    • Officer Jeffrey Hughes, Silver Award
    • Unit Awards to:
    • Sergeant Troy Brenner
    • Corporal Jason Halko
    • Officer Jarrett King
    • Officer Daniel Fitzpatrick
    • Officer Maxie Weisz
    • Sergeant Douglas Carr
    • Officer Christopher Soriano
    • Officer Christopher Kemble
    • Officer Patrick Keep
    • Officer Heather Haynes
    • Officer Kevin Crowley
    • Sergeant Paul Bandholz
    • Officer Steven Goldberg
    • Officer Brandi Barber
    • Officer Michael Wengloski
    • Officer Michael Damskey
    • Officer Michael Herda
    • Officer Gregory Pagonis
    • Officer Cody Fields
    • Officer Keven Argueta
    • Officer Nathan Bush
    • Officer Jacob Zaika
    • Officer Joshua Swecker
The Montgomery County Police Department is publicly releasing for the first time, body-camera video from the emergency response to the overnight August 10 into August 11 Flower Branch Apartments explosion/fire:

Emergency Response to 2016 Silver Spring Explosion/Fire Including Body-Camera Footage (Edited):

class="alignleft wp-image-40151" src="" alt="" width="500" height="288" />

Please see the 43rd Annual Chamber of Commerce Awards program for more detailed information regarding the awards and award recipients.

# # #


# # #

Release ID: 17-094
Media Contact: mcpnews 
Categories: award, press-releases